The 2016 Emmy Nominations Are Out!

And I’m not mad about it. I’m more of a TV junkie than a movie junkie any day of the week, so to see so many of my favourite shows nominated is super exciting! And yes, I’ll be the one to bring this up: big ups to the Emmys for actually featuring a diverse selection of not only white & black actors, but Indian and Egyptian actors as well. Could there be more? Sure, but TV is where everything’s at right now so any recognition for all the hard work and amazing talent that goes into a show is phenomenal.

With all that said, here are my picks for each category wins (full disclosure – I haven’t watched everything that’s been nominated, yet):

Outstanding Drama Series

Winner: House of Cards – not just because they’ve never won this category, but because Season 4 completely blew Season 3 out of the water.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Winner: Robin Wright, House of Cards – in case you haven’t already picked up on it, I’m a HoC fan. Claire Underwood really came into her own this season, which is why she gets my pick.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Winner: Rami Malek, Mr. Robot – I have loved Rami Malek since The War at Home and I’m so excited to see him on another great show. Plus I’m a total nerd so why wouldn’t I love Mr. Robot.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Winner: Lena Headey, Game of Thrones – Cersei just f’ed everyone’s shit up this season, and her always masterful plotting (but lack of foresight) made Season 6 of GOT especially enjoyable.

Honourable Mention: Emilia Clarke – Can you tell I like women in powerful roles? Danerys had no time for your shit this season, which makes her my kind of woman.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Winner: Kit Harrington OR Christian Slater – granted Jon Snow was dead for the first couple episodes and then you didn’t really see a whole lot of him until he was ready to fight Ramsay, but the second half of Season 6 was outstanding. Christian Slater also did a great job because I don’t know if I would have picked up on the fragmented personality until later seasons.

Outstanding Comedy Series

Winner: BLACK-ISH. BLACK-ISH. BLACK-ISH. And not just because I’m black-ish, but this show has an incredible cast (can I be Diane when I grow up!?), is actually funny, and isn’t afraid to talk about issues like how things are fundamentally different for black people in America.

Honourable Mentions: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt & Master of None.

Veep will probably end up sweeping this category again though.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Winner: TRACEE ELLIS ROSS. nuff said.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Winner: Aziz Ansari – being a child of immigrant parents, I could relate to a lot of the first half of the season, and it was like tears-streaming-down-your-face kind of funny. That being said, I don’t feel like the rest of the supporting cast really helped move the storyline, so Aziz would be my only pick for this show.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Winner: Tituss Burgess OR Andre Braugher – both hilarious in their own ways. I aspire to be Captain Holt when it comes to my cadets, and I’m pretty much already Tituss, without the superior vocal ability.

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series

Winner: Tracy Morgan – this guy went from being in a coma to coming back to the stage and killing it. So much respect for him and I definitely think he’ll win this one.

Outstanding Made-for-TV Movie

Winner: Luther – apart from being an absolutely beautiful man, Idris Elba is a fantastic actor. He delivered a captivating performance in this show and I truly hope he wins!

This list is by no means inclusive (because who really wants to read my opinions for that long), but you can see the full categories & nominees list, here. The 2016 Emmy Awards will be hosted on September 18th & hosted by Jimmy Kimmel.


Photo

Leave a Reply

