What Year is it Again?

Unless you’ve been living under a Geodude (that would be a rock-type Pokémon), us 90s kids have been blessed by the retro gods with some of our favourite things making a comeback in the last week. As a 24-year-old blerd, my level of excitement can barely be contained over the news of these 2 incredible things making comebacks.

1) Pokémon GO

Raise your hand if you high-key (or low key) loved this game back in the early 2000s.

tumblr_n6ux7xB0yS1s39ijeo1_400

Most of us? Cool. Not gonna lie, if I had any idea where my see-through GameBoy Color was, I would still be playing this game. No shame. If you have no idea what Pokémon is, educate yourself.

Nintendo, after seeing a consistent decline in their shares over the last few years, someone in their marketing department took Google’s April Fool’s joke seriously. And since they’ve added $9 billion in value since the game launched in just a handful of markets, so I really don’t think anyone is complaining. People have been flocking to this game like wildfire. If you thought there were too many people glued to their phones before, just avoid going outside for the next few months. After reports of battery draining and blowing up data plans, I’m patiently waiting for the optimized version to come out in the Canadian app store. Fingers crossed that it’s soon.

2) Mini NES

Anyone who knows me knows I’m an OG NES player. Super Mario Bros. 3 was my shit. In fact, it’s the only gaming console I still own. So just imagine how ecstatic I was when I heard about this bad boy?

NESMini-930x542

BAM.

Yes ,my friends, that is a mini NES. Not only will you not need an old-school tube TV to use it (it connects via HDMI), but it’s only $60 US AND it comes with 30 of our favourite games including Donkey Kong, Galaga, Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros. 1-3, Pac-Man and the Legend of Zelda. It’s never too early to start considering my birthday gifts.

Seriously, what year is it again?

 

 

Leave a Reply

