New Rogue One Trailer

ATTENTION: This post will contain details about the new Rogue One trailer. If you haven’t seen it yet, watch it it here. And if you haven’t watched it yet, what are you even doing? Seriously, it’s 2 minutes and 15 seconds long. Go watch it, I’ll wait.

For those of you who know me, you know I’m a huge (albeit it late), Star Wars fan.

Here’s a picture of me with my favourite mug & last year’s Halloween costume.

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 1.02.34 PM Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 1.04.00 PM

I’m not a diehard fan in the sense that I might fight you if you misquote a line or the type of fan that will be there at the midnight showing or anything like that, but I am enough of a fan to know who shot first, easily marathon all 7 films in a day, and maybe get into a heated discussion about whether or not the prequels were garbage.

With the new trailer and subsequent movie, I gotta say I’m a little disappointed in this storyline. I’m sure you can really only max out the characters from the original films so many times, but I would have loved to see a continuation of the storyline from The Force Awakens. What are Rey and Finn up to? Will Rey struggle with the Dark & Light Sides of the Force? Will Captain Phasma make a return? (really I just love Gwendoline Christie and would like to see her in more stuff)

Because Rogue One is set to take place in between Episodes III and IV, it makes sense that there’s a Death Star involved, but if the Imperial Army is supposed to be such a strong and powerful force, how are they incapable of coming up with any sort of weapon that does anything other than harnessing power into a laser that blows up planets? If we’re going to be abandoning the original storyline for the most part, then lets make the villains more useful than just a running series of the same failure.

Hopefully we’ll also see more development of character in this new (and what I assume is a) protocol droid, but I absolutely love C-3PO. Both the character itself and the man who played him all these years.

Lastly, if it wasn’t blatantly obvious from the above photos, my favourite Star Wars character of all time, Darth Vader has returned. Since The Force Awakens took place after Return of the Jedi, Darth was not a part of that storyline. I think the part I’m most excited about is the fact that after all these years, Darth Vader is still voiced by James Earl Jones, who can easily tie Morgan Freeman for best voice ever.

Despite my criticisms, I am still really excited for Rogue One and will definitely be one of those fans in attendance during its opening run.

What did you think of the Rogue One trailer?


Photo

Leave a Reply

